Strength of Diana

I think it was out of fear [their undermining tactics], because here was a strong woman doing her bit, and where was she getting her strength from to continue?

Today was extremely laid back for me. I spent the entirety either at the gym, watching films, or doing homework. In the midest of watching films, I came across the BBC Panorama interview with Lady Diana.

For those of you who do not know, I am a huge fan of Lady Diana. When I was younger, I was gifted the “Diana Bear” which was a purple teddy bear with an embroidered white rose on its left breast. At that age, I was not able to understand why there was a bear named after someone, nor who it was that seemed so important. As I’ve grown, I have learned more about Lady Diana, and I have come to admire her greatly. The work she did changed peoples lives, and her legacy is carried on in her sons. She also spoke openly about issues that were considered taboo subjects at the time, including AIDS, mental health, eating disorders, and many others.

I sat and watched the interview and was struck by her soft manner that still seemed to command the attention of the room. Her responses to the questions were thoughtful, and respectful. I was actually surprised at her answers to some questions that seemed especially probing, but she either simply turned the question on its head or brushed it off. To have the strength to face the world after everything she went through astounds and inspires me.

I certainly hope that I grow into some of the qualities of Diana – though I will never be in the same position as her. But perhaps I’ll still be able to make a change in the world without the scruitity of a nation (or world for that manner).

-22

Leave a comment